Morning Petition

I confess my inclination to stray.
To worship idols of my own design.
Faithful I am unable to stay,
I tend to blur the line
Between wrong and right.
But there’s no darkness in light!
It’s a constant fight
To die daily.

I am weak and insufficient,
Prone to wander and doubt.
Marked by a sinful bent,
And rebellious from the inside out.
You call me to repent and believe.
When I do, I receive
Mercy I can’t quite conceive
And marvelous grace.

But my weaknesses are small
When compared to Your majesty.
You’ve covered them all
And loved me lavishly.
You’re my Redeemer and Savior,
Master and Creator,
Healer and Sustainer,
Worthy of my praise.

Refreshed by Your Word,
Renewed by Your mercy.
My confession You have heard,
I’ve no need to worry.
You have filled me with praise
Of Your redeeming grace.
Free to follow Your Way
The new day begins.

About LaraBeth

Child of God, wife of one, mother of five, Grammie of two (and another on the way!). I enjoy reading, writing, cooking and playing piano. View all posts by LaraBeth

Leave a comment