For My Daughter

My daughter and her husband are moving next week to another state to help start a new church, in an area where few claim to follow Jesus Christ. I’ve known for years that she was called to missions and now that the day is close, it’s hard to imagine life without her near by. I’m so proud of her and her commitment to follow Christ. This is my prayer for her:

Oh, my Father, here I am again;
Another piece of my heart is taking flight!
She’s off to a dark place in the world
To share Your love and be Your light.
What a blessing to raise her for a while,
To see her grow in love and grace;
To hear her laughter and wipe her tears,
And see the joy of life on her face.

She is young and brave and bold-
More so than I ever was.
Unafraid to step out in faith-
That’s just what she does!
She has a big heart and bigger faith,
Firm and steady in her beliefs.
Because she believes in a big, big God
Who is never out of reach.

Father, I pray for her protection
From the roaring lions of life.
I pray for her to have selfless love
As a homemaker and a wife.
When life is hard and hope seems gone
I pray for the strength to carry on.
Above anything else that I could ask for,
Father, I want her to know You more.

There’s a bond between her and I-
Different than any other.
Sharing life and love with her,
So thankful to be her mother.
I know You love her more than I can fathom,
With a love fiercer than my own.
I pray for her to remember this
In the times she feels alone.

I pray for her husband, head of her family-
To love her deeply, but love You most.
Guide him, grow him and teach him
In You alone may he boast.
Surround her with friends who point her to Christ;
Those who will help to instill
The passion and hunger in her
To remain in the center of Your will.

Father in heaven, my desire for her
Is to know Your word is true;
For her words and action to make You known;
For her life to make much of You.
When things happen that she doesn’t understand,
I pray she’ll trust in Your sovereign plan.
Above anything else that I could ask for,
Father, I want her to know You more.

About LaraBeth

Child of God, wife of one, mother of five, Grammie of two (and another on the way!). I enjoy reading, writing, cooking and playing piano. View all posts by LaraBeth

Leave a comment