Farewell

~We will be strangers, you and I.
I’ll keep to myself, you do the same-
After a while, I’ll know only your name.
Weather and small talk will fill our mouths,
I’ll know nothing of what your life is about.
I’ll be private, guarded- with nothing to share-
You won’t see me struggle, you won’t care.

~We will be strangers, you and I.
You used to encourage and cheer me on.
Not anymore- where have you gone?
Maybe it’s me, my depressing ways.
Maybe I’m defective- that’s why nobody stays.
Maybe it’s you, you’re much too good
To mix up with someone from my neighborhood.

~We will be strangers, you and I.
We shared secrets and jokes, wishes and dreams.
We talked about almost everything!
You changed my life in the best of ways.
I’ll always be thankful for those days.
What a blessing to have known you, friend.
It hurts so much for this to end.

~We will be strangers, you and I.
But when, by chance, I see your face
I’ll find out if time erased
That deep kinship that once we shared,
The gentle smile that showed you cared.

For now, just know that you are missed.
Perhaps one day we’ll reminisce;
Discover what is was that changed us
How it happened that we became strangers,
~You and I.

About LaraBeth

Child of God, wife of one, mother of five, Grammie of two (and another on the way!). I enjoy reading, writing, cooking and playing piano. View all posts by LaraBeth

Leave a comment