Do You Hear Me? (Grown-up Version)

I woke up this morning already late,
Eating breakfast will just have to wait!
My boss is angry and so is my spouse;
I locked my keys and cell phone inside the house.
It’s a rough day already and I’m still at home.
I won’t survive if I face this alone!

Do you hear me when I pray?
Life is kinda hard today.
I know You say You love me,
But You feel so far away.
Will you hear me when I pray?
Can I trust the words You say?
I need to know there’s a purpose
For what I’m going thru today.
Do you hear me?

Tragedy and sickness fill our lives.
I know it doesn’t catch You by surprise.
The unknowns and why’s are hard for us;
But Your ways are always righteous and just.
When I don’t understand the reasons I grieve,
Strengthen my faith and help me believe–

That you hear me when I pray,
Though my life is hard today.
You said You’ll always love me,
And You’re never far away.
You will hear me when I pray,
I can trust the words You say.
You show me there’s a purpose
For what I’m going thru today.
You will hear me!

About LaraBeth

Child of God, wife of one, mother of five, Grammie of two (and another on the way!). I enjoy reading, writing, cooking and playing piano. View all posts by LaraBeth

Leave a comment